VirtualBox | No Network Adaptor | How to fix

Recently I wanted to install Windows XP Guest on my Mac OS X host using Virtual Box. Installation went well but I cannot connect to Internet. On the way during troubleshooting, I found that there was no network adapter in place first of all. I ran guest additions and extension pack but no success. Some people even said that changing network adapter type from NAT to bridge mode will fix the issue, but still no luck.

Then I tried to locate the name of network adapter being used, and it is Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop (82540EM). I quickly made a web search and located the driver and downloaded it from here.

Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop (82540EM)

Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop (82540EM)

So now a big problem, how do I transfer this exe driver to my XP guest? I tried configuring a shared folder but it didn’t help.  I think virtual box file sharing is purely network stack based, not sure though 😕.

Then I just created a folder and made an iso image from it. I attached it to the XP guest and installed from there.

To sum up the fix:

  1. Locate and get driver for Intel PRO/1000 MT Desktop (82540EM)
  2. Create a folder in mac and copy the driver.
  3. Create an iso image from the folder. Refer here for instructions http://www.macworld.com/article/1135728/createiso.html
  4. Attach the iso to the Guest and install the driver.

 

Leave a Reply

